[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4762: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3897)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4764: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3897)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4765: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3897)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4766: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3897)
GameMonkey Script • View topic - Calling a gmfunction from within a "get dot"

GameMonkey Script

GameMonkey Script Forums
It is currently Tue Sep 22, 2020 2:02 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 66


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 1:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:40 am
Posts: 66


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 1:38 pm
Posts: 708
Just a few thoughts...

I see what you are trying to do, but I don't think modifying Get/Set dot like that is a good idea.
Certainly you can provide or deny access to some named logical members or pass through to a gmTable or other object.
You won't be able to call other functions from within GetDot as the VM is not in a state to allow that. Also you should not be trying to re-use the same thread to call another function. Just let native code create another gmThread. If performance is a real issue, lake a step back and see what you are trying to achieve and implement the slow logic natively and keep GM for control logic.

It is nice to show code where dot operators, members and functions may be native or script and the user doesn't know or care, but there is value in trying to keep things simple if at all possible. You can usually achieve the desired result even if the syntax doesn't look quite as you'd prefer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group