GameMonkey Script

GameMonkey Script Forums
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:25 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:24 am 

Hello, I'm new to GameMonkey, and while I've been able to figure most of it out from the tutorials on gamedev.net, I've run into a bit of trouble binding C++ functions for use in GameMonkey scripts. Eventually, I plan on using it to script effects for a rogue-like I'm writing, but before I start implementing it there, I want to get a basic demo of sorts running, so I can be sure I understand how it works.

I've managed to call functions from scripts without any trouble, but I can't figure out how to use my "wrapped" C++ functions from my GameMonkey scripts. I've put an incredibly simple function in the source file, but it isn't called from the script properly. I'm probably skipping something important, but here's what I have so far.
Code:
//This is the function from the source code...
int GM_CDECL test(gmThread *a_thread)
{
  std::cout << "It worked.";

return GM_OK;
}

Code:
//This is the script file.
global add = function() {  test(); };

Code:
//This is the code that calls the function from the script.
gmLoadAndExecuteScript ( gm, "data/scripts/effects/testeffect.gm" );

gmCall call;
call.BeginGlobalFunction( &gm, "add");
call.End();

Is there more I have to do to allow the function to be called from the script?

Thanks!

Tim

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:17 am 

Welcome to the forum timmeh :)

At quick glance I don't see any problem, I will have a closer look when I have some more time later today.
Are you registering your native bound function before calling it? Something like this:
Code:
gm.RegisterLibraryFunction("test", &test);

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:17 pm 

I've had another look and still don't see any specific problem, so here's some thoughts: